What if a previous owner connected my car to Recurrent?
What if a previous owner connected my car to Recurrent?
You must reconnect your EV
If you bought an EV and the prior owner was connected to Recurrent – congrats! That means the prior owner was receiving Vehicle Insights on the vehicle and was probably invested in taking care of their EV.
But what does it mean for data sharing with Recurrent?
The previous owner's Recurrent connection was only authorized with their connected service account. When they sold the vehicle, it was automatically disconnected from Recurrent. Since you will have a new connected services account, you will need to re-authenticate access. You can do so with your own Recurrent account via our Add Vehicle page.
But what about the prior data that was collected when the car was not in my possession? Is it used?
Yes, all VIN-specific data is used to generate Vehicle Insights on your car. However, old data gets less priority in the range score calculations and vehicle ranges. Your new driving and charging behavior will impact your future Vehicle Insights much more.